Hope in Time of Abandonment

By Jacques Ellul

Foreword by David Gill

Hope in Time of Abandonment

paperback-logo

  • ISBN: 9781606089781
  • Pages: 320
  • Publication Date: 6/12/2012
  • Retail Price: $38.00
Web Price: $30.40
Web Price: $30.40

Hope in Time of Abandonment

By Jacques Ellul

Foreword by David Gill

paperback-logo

PAPERBACK

  • ISBN: 9781606089781
  • Pages: 320
  • Publication Date: 6/12/2012
  • Retail Price: $38.00
Web Price: $30.40

About-

The writings of Jacques Ellul have brought him into the first rank as theologian and social critic. Martin Marty commented that if he had to introduce one man from the Protestant world to tell the church what its agenda should be, that man would be Ellul.

The eminent Frenchman now brings us his most profound, most moving theological statement. For years, Jacques Ellul tells us in his preface, he had wanted to write a book on "The Age of Abandonment," for it seemed to him that both society and the church had reached that point described in Scripture when God turns his back and is silent. But when he came to elaborate this theme, Ellul found himself inexplicably writing on the theme of hope, despite the fact that his analysis of society remained unchanged. Hope was now no longer a matter of intellect, but a word asked by God of the heart for its salvation.

More than ever before, in this book Jacques Ellul shares with readers not only the darkest forebodings of contemporary man's soul, but also his own struggle to emerge from despair to a stronger level of Christian faith--and hope. He writes of hope, not in the vein of Moltmann and Metz, but in a highly original and penetrating manner.

Contributors-

Jacques Ellul
David Gill

Bio(s)-

Jacques Ellul (1912-1994), a French sociologist and lay theologian, was Professor Emeritus of Law and of the History and Sociology of Institutions at the University of Bordeaux. He wrote more than forty books, including The Technological Society, The Humiliation of the Word, and Technological Bluff.

More from the Contributor(s)-

see all »

More in This Series-

see all »

Our ImprintsExplore our different imprints . . .-

View Our Publishing Partners »
Explore our different imprints . . . View Our Publishing Partners »
© 2016 Wipf and Stock Publishers. All Rights Reserved.