The Resurrection of Theism

Prolegomena to Christian Apology

By Stuart C. Hackett

The Resurrection of Theism

paperback-logo

  • ISBN: 9781606084625
  • Pages: 382
  • Publication Date: 1/21/2009
  • Retail Price: $44.00
Web Price: $35.20
Web Price: $35.20

The Resurrection of Theism

Prolegomena to Christian Apology

By Stuart C. Hackett

paperback-logo

PAPERBACK

  • ISBN: 9781606084625
  • Pages: 382
  • Publication Date: 1/21/2009
  • Retail Price: $44.00
Web Price: $35.20

About-

"The Christian world view," contends the author, "both needs and embodies a thoroughgoing, rational apologetic as a manifestation of its relevance to the contemporary mind.
. . . Christian faith should be defended in terms of criteria which center in rational objectivity as the norm of truth and evaluation."

The author, who stands in the tradition of Aquinas, Butler, Orr, and Tennant, deals first with the problem of epistemological approach (part 1). Then he tackles the apologetic of natural revelation, first setting forth the inadequacy of every major alternate to rational empiricism (part 2), then demonstrating the existence of the God of theism (part 3).

Each chapter is well outlined, and these outlines appear together in an "Analytical Table of Contents." This feature, as well as a bibliography and index, makes this a useful textbook for courses in apologetics and philosophy.

Endorsements & Reviews-

"No matter what conclusion one may draw concerning the success of this extraordinary attempt to rehabilitate the great tradition in theistic argument," writes Vernon C. Grounds in the foreword, "he will be compelled to admire its daring, sweep, power, and lucidity." One reviewer of the book, Robert C. Knudson of Westminster Theological Seminary, said upon its release in 1957 that "Hackett shows an enviable grasp of philosophy and of recent American and British philosophical discussion. His discussions are generally vigorous and lively. He has a penetrating mind, which is able to get down to basic issues."

Contributors-

Stuart C. Hackett

Bio(s)-

Stuart C. Hackett spent his career teaching at Christian colleges and universities, including Trinity International University, from which he retired in 1991. He is the author of Oriental Philosophy: A Westerner's Guide to Eastern Thought (1979), The Reconstruction of the Christian Revelation Claim: A Philosophical and Critical Apologetic (1984), and The Rediscoveryof the Highest Good (2009). He is coeditor with George I. Mavrodes of Problems and Perspectives in the Philosophy of Religion (1967).

More from the Contributor(s)-

see all »

Our ImprintsExplore our different imprints . . .-

View Our Publishing Partners »
Explore our different imprints . . . View Our Publishing Partners »
© 2016 Wipf and Stock Publishers. All Rights Reserved.