Understanding and Transforming the Black Church

By Anthony B. Pinn

Understanding and Transforming the Black Church

paperback-logo

  • ISBN: 9781556353017
  • Pages: 166
  • Publication Date: 1/1/2010
  • Retail Price: $21.00
Web Price: $16.80
Web Price: $16.80
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781556353017
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 1/1/2010
  • Retail Price: $21.00
Web Price: $16.80
Web Price: $16.80
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

Understanding and Transforming the Black Church

By Anthony B. Pinn

paperback-logo

PAPERBACK

  • ISBN: 9781556353017
  • Pages: 166
  • Publication Date: 1/1/2010
  • Retail Price: $21.00
Web Price: $16.80
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781556353017
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 1/1/2010
  • Retail Price: $21.00
Web Price: $16.80
Web Price: $16.80
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

About-

What is the nature and purpose of the Black Church? What is the relationship of the scholar of religion to the Black Church? While black churches have been a major component of the religious landscape of African American communities for centuries, little critical attention has been given to these questions outside an apologetic stance. This book seeks to correct this trend by examining some of the major issues facing black churches in the twenty-first century. From a challenge to traditional ways of addressing sexism within black churches to African American Christianity's relationship to popular culture, this set of reflections seeks to offer new perspectives on what it might mean to be Black and Christian in the United States.

Endorsements & Reviews-

"Anthony Pinn's volume seeks to critically understand and sympathetically transform the Black Church. Carrying on in the tradition of William R. Jones, Pinn's perspective on the Black Church is suspicious, loving, critical, committed, exasperating, and exhilarating. One may not always agree with his conclusions, but one cannot ignore his penchant for ferreting out the truth. This book is a passionate yet balanced argument which must be heard by anyone who is interested in the future of the black church."
--James H. Evans Jr.
Robert K. Davies Professor of Systematic Theology
Colgate Rochester Crozer Divinity School

"Pinn is required reading in every Black Church Studies department and theological curriculum that seeks self-understanding, healing, and transformation; and an indispensable interlocutor in the broader public conversation about the American dilemma and its democratic possibilities."
--Walter Earl Fluker
Coca-Cola Professor of Leadership Studies
Morehouse College

Contributors-

Anthony B. Pinn

Bio(s)-

Anthony B. Pinn is Agnes Cullen Arnold Professor of Humanities and Professor of Religious Studies at Rice University. He is also the executive director of the Society for the Study of Black Religion. Pinn is the author/editor of eighteen books.

More from the Contributor(s)-

see all »

Our ImprintsExplore our different imprints . . .-

View Our Publishing Partners »
Explore our different imprints . . . View Our Publishing Partners »
© 2016 Wipf and Stock Publishers. All Rights Reserved.