Hope in Time of Abandonment Download Cover Request Review Copy Request Exam Copy

Hope in Time of Abandonment

Jacques Ellul Legacy Series

by Jacques Ellul

Foreword by David W. Gill

Imprint: Wipf and Stock

320 Pages, 5.50 x 8.50 x 0.64 in

  • Paperback
  • 9781606089781
  • Published: June 2012

$38.00 / £29.00 / AU$52.00

Buy

Shipping Options

Buy

Buy

Buy

Purchasing options are not available in this country.

Other Retailers:

The writings of Jacques Ellul have brought him into the first rank as theologian and social critic. Martin Marty commented that if he had to introduce one man from the Protestant world to tell the church what its agenda should be, that man would be Ellul. The eminent Frenchman now brings us his most profound, most moving theological statement. For years, Jacques Ellul tells us in his preface, he had wanted to write a book on "The Age of Abandonment," for it seemed to him that both society and the church had reached that point described in Scripture when God turns his back and is silent. But when he came to elaborate this theme, Ellul found himself inexplicably writing on the theme of hope, despite the fact that his analysis of society remained unchanged. Hope was now no longer a matter of intellect, but a word asked by God of the heart for its salvation. More than ever before, in this book Jacques Ellul shares with readers not only the darkest forebodings of contemporary man's soul, but also his own struggle to emerge from despair to a stronger level of Christian faith--and hope. He writes of hope, not in the vein of Moltmann and Metz, but in a highly original and penetrating manner.
X

Privacy Policy and Cookies

We have recently updated our Privacy Policy. This outlines how and why we collect, store and use your personal data when you use our website. Like most websites, we use cookies to improve our service and make your user experience better. See our updated Privacy Policy to find out more about cookies and how we use your data.

Okay, thanks