Glimpses of Another Land

Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing: Essays

By Eric Miller

Glimpses of Another Land

paperback-logo

  • ISBN: 9781610978354
  • Pages: 190
  • Publication Date: 8/16/2012
  • Retail Price: $22.00
Web Price: $17.60
Web Price: $17.60
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781610978354
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 8/16/2012
  • Retail Price: $22.00
Web Price: $17.60
Web Price: $17.60
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

Glimpses of Another Land

Political Hopes, Spiritual Longing: Essays

By Eric Miller

paperback-logo

PAPERBACK

  • ISBN: 9781610978354
  • Pages: 190
  • Publication Date: 8/16/2012
  • Retail Price: $22.00
Web Price: $17.60
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781610978354
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 8/16/2012
  • Retail Price: $22.00
Web Price: $17.60
Web Price: $17.60
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

About-

In Glimpses of Another Land, Eric Miller takes the reader across the American landscape in quest of insight into our times. For those facing challenges and choices from all sides, Miller offers not analysis so much as reorientation--the kind of sharpened vision that redirects movement. An age featuring 9/11 as its defining moment surely requires probing reflection and judgment. Here Eric Miller, with an alert eye and keen voice, provides both.

Endorsements & Reviews-

"Eric Miller is one of the most thoughtful and graceful writers today--a combination of intelligence, humility, and faithful insight. I try to read everything he writes. What a gift to have so many of his essays collected in one place!"
--Mark Galli, senior managing editor of Christianity Today

"Whether he writes about the Amish, popular Christian music, or the Pittsburgh Steelers, Eric Miller's prose sings with grace, passion, wit, Pennsylvania patriotism, and, suffusing it all, a sense of hope. His is an America of neighbors, faith, and peace, not vacuous pop culture and political cant. In the tradition of Christopher Lasch and Wendell Berry, Eric Miller illumines for us a way back home."
--Bill Kauffman, author of Ain't My America

"It's fitting that Eric Miller begins this book by talking about hope and longing. Grounded in a specific time and place, clear-eyed about our troubles, these essays offer bright glimpses of another land."
--John Wilson, editor of Books & Culture

"Eric Miller is quickly becoming one of the best evangelical cultural critics at work among us today. Always timely, never trendy, usually salty, never cynical, his essays have a winsome way of delighting us in the good, drawing us out of ourselves in longing for a better, more humane and divine mode of living in the world . . . May his tribe increase and find a way of loving the rest of us in. May they help us keep our hope alive."
--Douglas A. Sweeney, author of The American Evangelical Story

"These essays invite a new generation to appreciate an older legacy of post-partisan political hope. Here is a voice that echoes with Burke, Chesterton, Berry, and above all, Christopher Lasch. Miller's pointed insights and intimate prose are invitations to both reflection and delight."
--James K. A. Smith, author of The Devil Reads Derrida

"Eric Miller is my favorite Christian cultural critic. I have been absorbing his writings for over a decade, and they never fail to inspire me with hope for something better, something real. If you haven't read him, you must. These essays will challenge you to think differently about what it means to be a human being in this world."
--John Fea, author of The Way of Improvement Leads Home

Contributors-

Eric Miller

Bio(s)-

Eric Miller is Professor of American History at Geneva College in Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania. He is the author of Hope in a Scattering Time: A Life of Christopher Lasch (2010) and coeditor of Confessing History: Explorations in Christian Faith and the Historian's Vocation (2010).

Our ImprintsExplore our different imprints . . .-

View Our Publishing Partners »
Explore our different imprints . . . View Our Publishing Partners »
© 2014 Wipf and Stock Publishers. All Rights Reserved.