There are no Right Answers to Wrong Questions

15 Ways Our Questions Influence Our Choices to Live a Christian Life

By Peter C. Wilcox, STD

There are no Right Answers to Wrong Questions

paperback-logo

  • ISBN: 9781498289948
  • Pages: 144
  • Publication Date: 6/28/2016
  • Retail Price: $20.00
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
Web Price: $16.00
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781498289948
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 6/28/2016
  • Retail Price: $20.00
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

There are no Right Answers to Wrong Questions

15 Ways Our Questions Influence Our Choices to Live a Christian Life

By Peter C. Wilcox, STD

paperback-logo

PAPERBACK

  • ISBN: 9781498289948
  • Pages: 144
  • Publication Date: 6/28/2016
  • Retail Price: $20.00
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
ebook-logo

eBOOK

  • ISBN: 9781498289948
  • Format: epub
  • Publication Date: 6/28/2016
  • Retail Price: $20.00
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
Web Price: $16.00
BUY FROM AMAZON.COM
 

*All eBooks are non-returnable

** Click here to review our ePub FAQ and policies.

About-

Abraham Joshua Heschel said that, "We are closer to God when we are asking questions than when we have the answers." He believed that to be a Christian is not to be a person who knows all the answers but one who "lives in the part of the self where the question is constantly being born."

Most of us don't think very much about our questions. In our culture, we are accustomed to being able to find out answers to nearly any question just by typing it into Google search or asking Siri. But behind any answer, there is always a question. Sometimes, the question isn't clear to us; sometimes, it is not very well articulated, even to ourselves. But it is always there.

In over thirty years as a psychotherapist and spiritual director, Peter C. Wilcox has seen how the questions people ask themselves have shaped their lives in some very important ways. This book is an invitation to see how important it is to learn how to ask the right questions about our lives. This is because our choice of questions leads us on a path of discovery towards answers that help us to grow spiritually and psychologically. Our questions orient our lives and give direction to us. We will see that they enable us to make fifteen choices that have a tremendous impact on the kind of person we become.

Endorsements & Reviews-

"A book for today's dilemmas, caringly, patiently reflected upon by an author filled with those gifts and someone deeply sensitive to the personal challenges affecting us all."
--Eugene Hasson, Parish Priest in the parishes of Lavey and Greenlough in the diocese of Derry, Ireland

"With numerous uplifting anecdotes from his own spiritual life and counseling, Peter offers an inspiring and practical way forward for the sincere Christian seeking a healthier self image, while enriching their personal relationship with Christ. I highly recommend this book, especially for pastors and spiritual directors."
--Jim Caldwell, life-long friend

"In the tradition of Socrates, Jesus, and St. Francis, Dr. Wilcox teaches us the value of questions in our life's journey and how to frame those same questions so that by posing them we realize our true selves. It is a guide to the map of life and shows us how to navigate through the problems and difficulties that we face in our quest for truth and for God's love."
--Bob Thabet, Lay Minister, Diocese of Orlando

"In There are No Right Answers to Wrong Questions, Dr. Wilcox invites us to wonder about and examine our life's questions and choices. His stories, woven with lessons from Scripture, create a framework for deep reflection. I look forward to sharing this book with my spiritual companions."
--Elaine Ireland, former student of Dr. Wilcox; Christian writer, Ellicott City, MD

"Peter Wilcox has written a challenging and thought provoking book. Our modern need for instant answers because of our busyness keeps us from knowing and appreciating ourselves. I would recommend this book to anyone who wants to find the deeper meanings in life."
--Colette Stevenson, Marriage and family counselor; Presentation Sister, Ireland

Contributors-

Peter C. Wilcox, STD

Bio(s)-

Peter C. Wilcox, STD, has been a psychotherapist and spiritual director for over thirty years. He holds a doctorate in theology from the Catholic University of America and has taught at the Washington Theological Union, Loyola University Maryland, and St. Bonaventure University. He has directed retreats and conducted seminars on personality development and spiritual growth for many years. He is the author of John Henry Newman, Spiritual Director 1845-1890 (2013), and A Sheltering Tree, Inspirational Stories of Faith, Fidelity and Friendship (2014), and Don't Be a Waster of Sorrows (2015). Dr. Wilcox lives in Aiken, South Carolina, with his wife and daughter.

More from the Contributor(s)-

see all »

Our ImprintsExplore our different imprints . . .-

View Our Publishing Partners »
Explore our different imprints . . . View Our Publishing Partners »
© 2017 Wipf and Stock Publishers. All Rights Reserved.